top of page

Goddesses Never Age.....


My name is Susie Wiggins, I am 36 years old and I have a little furry soul sister that trots along beside me everywhere I go. Her name is Molly Wiggins and she is 4 years old.

For the past 10 years I have been a fan of Dr. Janie Simmons and her girls at Trinity. Although I am extremely clear that “inner beauty” makes one far more gorgeous than just visual appearance, I have unashamedly been known to try almost any new fan dangled treatment Dr. Simmons introduces. I do not apologize for using Dysport, Restylane, having Pixels, Microderms, Accents and anything else that may improve the quality or texture of my skin. If it feels good and looks good I do it. This has nothing to do with insecurities in my appearance it is just a personal choice. HOWEVER…..

That having been said, I am reading a fabulous book right now by Dr. Christian Northrup called “Goddesses never Age”….yup, don’t you just LOVE that title! The concept of the book is the “Mentality of Aging” or should I say NOT aging. So many times you will hear people say “I’m getting old” or “I’m not as young as I used to be” and ladies we need to stop that now!

For years I have been of the belief that the words that come out of your mouth when you preface them with I AM become your truth. I AM old or I AM boring have a completely different energy in the body than I AM a young spirit, or I AM fun. Things are unconsciously talked or thought into being wheter they are negative or positive, yup go back and read that bit again so you get it. It’s like that very old quote from Henry Ford “Whether you think you can - or you can’t, you’re right”. Amazing amounts of absolute power is are in our thoughts and words.

This way of thinking when it comes to ageing really came home to me when a couple of months ago my precious puppy Molly Wiggins all of a sudden developed an eye challenge and the eye in question became a solid blue. She was actually at the last Trinity party and many people met her (FYI she is only allowed at Trinity because she’s a service animal). When they see her eye, people ask how old she is way more often than they ever used to, however the response changes according to how I answer that question. When I answer truthfully and say “She is almost 12” the response is “Awww”, normally followed by a sad, sympathetic but loving look. When I say “She is 4” people brighten up and say “Oh she’s young, she’ll do just fine”. The energy completely changes according to how “old” people think she is. As we all know, both humans and animals pick up on the energy around them and act accordingly.

If we constantly talk about how we are getting older and are “not as fit as we used to be” it becomes a self-fulfilling prophesy. I have decided to take those words out of my vocabulary and not even put “getting older” into my psyche or my language. Getting “more beautifully wise” maybe or “being more gorgeous because of my experiences” possibly, but I refuse to think of myself as getting older. I have replaced those statements with “Gosh I just seem to have more and more energy all the time” or “I just love who I am becoming”, or “My spirit just keeps getting younger and younger as I learn more lessons”. I am sure you can think of your own phrases.

In “Goddesses Never Age” Dr. Northrup explains an experiment where they took ten 80 year old guys and put them in a monastery for a week to hang out together. Previous to this they measured all their vitals (eyesight, blood pressure, hearing, intelligence etc.) a week later, they measured it all again and it was about the same. Then they took a different group of ten 80 year old guys and put them in the same monastery for a week…. only this time their living quarters were decorated in the style of 40 years ago and the rules were changed. They were told “You are all 40 years old and you must stay in the character of a 40 year old all week”. They gave them clothes they would have worn when they were 40, played radio and black and white TV programs they would have experienced when they were 40, showed the sports teams from 40 years ago, the newspapers from 40 years ago, books and magazine from that era etc. etc. A week later when they came out the results were astounding. They carried their own luggage and even broke out into an impromptu game of touch football. However the most telling part of the experiment was when they measure their vitals, they were DRAMATICALLY improved! Which just begs my point “We become how old we think we are”?

So try this on for size. Pick out an age when you just loved your life, then mentally tell yourself you are that age. Make a deal with to never complain about getting older, adopt the behavior of someone 20 years younger, then see how it makes you feel. You can’t be halfhearted about this; you must play full out for it to work. My mother is 91 years old and when I asked her what she wanted for her 90th birthday last year she said “I would like to fly a plane and go see the Egyptian pyramids” (yup at a time when Egypt is not the safest place to go on holiday). When your mother is 90, her wish is your command, so off we went to Egypt so she could see the pyramids and we even did a Nile Cruise just for good measure. Oh and she also did get to fly that plane, with a dual control instructor on board of course. This is all because my mother never uses her age as an excuse not to do something. And as it states on my business email signature “The scariest thing about excuses is that we often mistake them for the truth.

If the truth be known I am really 20 years older than the age stated at the beginning of this blog or so I am led to believe if my passport is accurate. However I have chosen to live my life as though I am 20 years younger and am thoroughly enjoying this new experiment……and by the time Dr. Simmons is done with me I will probably look 20 years younger too!

I’ll let you know how that works out for me. Oh and go get the book its brilliant!

~ Susie Wiggins ~

Susie hales from London, England. She is a Joy Mentor, Happiness Workshop Facilitator, Life Coach, facilitator of “Bespoke Coaching Adventures to Britain”, Blogger, Marketer Extraordinaire, Perpetual Gypsy, Gardener, Lover of Marmite on toast (don't ask) and is totally owned by a funny little dancing rescue dog called Molly Wiggins. Oh, and she is a raving fan of Trinity Aesthetics & Laser.

For info on Coaching contact Susie@JoyfulMoments.com


Featued Posts 
Recent Posts 
Find Me On
  • Facebook Long Shadow
  • Twitter Long Shadow
  • YouTube Long Shadow
  • Instagram Long Shadow
Other Favotite PR Blogs
Serach By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page